Magic Bites by Ilona Andrews

A fantastic book by husband and wife team Andrew and Ilona Gordon. I was curious about their writing process so I stopped by their website. As it turns out, they both think up the ideas, Ilona then does the writing and Andrew will do the reviewing and editing.

Magic Bites is endorsed by Patricia Briggs as an “edgy, dark fantasy.” It’s a good description from an author whom I was reminded of while reading this book. Magic Bites opens when Kate, an irritable, grouchy, tough as nails mercenary gets word that her guardian had been murdered. Her guardian, the knight diviner with the Atlanta chapter of the Order of Knights of Merciful Aid was brutally slaughtered while investigating a series of shapeshifter and vampire murders. Kate goes to the Order seeking answers to her guardian’s death, but is instead assigned the task of solving the bigger mystery that is plaguing both the shapeshifters and the Masters of the Dead.

While piecing the puzzle together, Kate meets several very interesting people, including my favorite, Curran the Beast Lord, king of the Shapeshifters. Some of my favorite scenes were the ones in which Kate opened her mouth without thinking and would send him into a murderous rage. I found myself gleefully flipping the pages in anticipation of the conversations between the two of them. Despite always being on the verge of fighting it out, Kate and Curran somehow develop a fragile trust by the end of the book. I’m looking forward to the next book just for their scenes alone.

What else was good? Just about everything. The modern setting and the uneasy balance between science and magic was very intriguing. I liked that vampires were nothing but mindless thoughtless blood sucking puppets controlled by the Masters of the Dead. I liked Kate which is good because she is the main character. She’s a loner, she hates responsibility, she’s terrible at accepting someone else’s authority, she doesn’t trust easily and she’s got a huge chip on her shoulder. I also liked that the mystery was well thought out. I like that the book leads you to think that the questions have all been answered . . . except for the fact that there are still a hundred pages remaining. I liked that the pace was tight but not rushed. And, finally, I liked that Magic Bites left me wanting to read more. The only problem? After looking at their blog, it appears that they have other books in the works instead of a sequel to Magic Bites. Let’s just hope they have one planned for the very immediate future.

~ by loonigrrl on April 15, 2007.

4 Responses to “Magic Bites by Ilona Andrews”

  1. Hey there loonigrrl. Love your amazon reviews. I know that they are actually working on Kate’s next book and that it is in redrafting stage because I emailed them about it too! I am anxious, anxious for the next installment.

  2. Thanks Jane! I’m probably going to keep doing the amazon reviews . . . or maybe not. I haven’t decided 🙂

    Awesome. Thanks for letting me know about the next installment! Can’t wait!

  3. Hi Loonigrrl,

    I’m so glad the book worked for you :). There is nothing better than knowing somebody enjoyed your work. Here is a link to the sequel : http://www.ilonaland.com/kate2.html

  4. Ilona, the next book sounds great! I’m an idiot for not catching on that Sisters of the Crow was a sequel, thanks for sending the link!

Leave a Reply

 
